PDA

View Full Version : Wanted: Active Desktop



Gary Tait
09-20-2003, 11:36 PM
I realize it may be a part of a more complete IE4 install, but I cannot doownload the whole thing with dialup, so I'd appreciate if anybody could supply just the files I need to use with the IE4 install files I have now, for the integrated shell, AKA active desktop.

Bert
09-21-2003, 01:29 PM
I think what you need is the IE4.01 CD or the Year 2000 Updates CD [I have them]. Don't recall that Active Desktop is a separate program but was a choice to install or not during setup.

Gary Tait
09-21-2003, 02:41 PM
It was available as an addond, that the browser downloaded, and if it is part of one of those CD install packages, I'd like to know if somone can supply that file or files, to add to the IE4 install files I already have. Judging by the files I do have, i t may be no more than a CAB file.

To be clear, downloading the entire IE4 install is NOT an option due to dial-up.

Bert
09-21-2003, 11:49 PM
I was just browsing the Microsoft site and in the IE newsgroup the only thing I found is quoted:
">-----Original Message-----
>Hi!
>
>I am running Windows NT and Internet Explorer 6.0.2 SP1.
>My machine was recently rebuilt and I lost my active
>desktop feature. I really liked the folder options and
>now I have lost them. I've searched on the MS support
>site with no luck. Does anyone know how to get the active
>desktop back???
>
>Thanks!
>.
As far as I know, you need to have Internet Explorer 4.01
with Active Desktop. It seems MS doesn't have it on their
website anymore. I can send you a copy on disk. You will
have to uninstall IE first to get it back to the original
version (2.0 or 3 whichever comes installed with NT).

Let me know if you still want this. Thanks.

-Arnold"

I just looked at the Microsoft Year 2000 Resource CD and it has IE 4.01SP2 and has a choice to install Active Desktop. I didn't see any files that were specific to Active Desktop.

Bert
09-21-2003, 11:52 PM
I did a restore onto a new hard drive on an HP yesterday and it has the Active Desktop installed with Win98SE and IE5.

Gary Tait
09-22-2003, 01:51 AM
It i s part of Win98 though. I have win95, and somehow downloading only that component is the only acceptable method to get that, at this time.

locustfurnace
09-22-2003, 02:55 AM
read this site, it has a how-to for Win95/Nt4, to install Active Desktop
http://www.petri.co.il/install_active_desk...p_on_nt_4_0.htm (http://www.petri.co.il/install_active_desktop_on_nt_4_0.htm)

Gary Tait
09-24-2003, 02:19 AM
Digging around some old magazine CDs, I found IE4 SP1 with the active desktop.
Thanks for your suggestions anyway.