PDA

View Full Version : Important Question



Salopette
04-14-2004, 08:25 AM
Does ad-aware work with Norton, because last time I used 2 anti-viruse's together they crashed my PC.
So can I run ad-aware even if I have Norton AntiVirus 2004 Pro installed?

Pete
04-14-2004, 11:07 AM
AdAware isn't actually an anti-virus. It's a spyware detector that scans for spyware when you run it (for best results update just before each scan). It shouldn't interfere with a normal anti virus program.

I don't use Norton, but I haven't heard of any conflicts. I use it with AVG..no problems.

locustfurnace
04-14-2004, 11:22 AM
You should not run 2 of the same products simultaneous.
Disable all running apps, including your A/V when running your spyware utilities.

the gaffer
04-14-2004, 11:34 AM
a couple friends of mine run norton , adware and spybot and never had any problems one has windows m.e the other has xp, but as LF has stated you must shut down all running apps before you try them., if they do cause a problem searching the forum will turn up results for other spyware and adware removers as a few were listed recently.

locustfurnace
04-14-2004, 12:58 PM
Originally posted by the gaffer@Apr 14 2004, 10:34 AM
as a few were listed recently.
listed recently?
I made a pinned topic a while ago, and it has many entries actually, I think those recent board entries are missing this pinned thread for whatever reasons.
Adware, Spyware & Content Filtering, Listing of Links (http://www.oldversion.com/talk/index.php?act=ST&f=2&t=1405)