PDA

View Full Version : Realplayer



Carl
06-07-2004, 03:12 PM
I was forced to install RealPlayer 9 or 10. It will not allow me to burn RAM files.
I switched to RealPlayer 7...my favorite. It will not play the audio (radio) I want to record. Any suggestions? Thanks!

locustfurnace
06-07-2004, 04:27 PM
REAL 7 player can't play the newest Real 8, 9 file formats because the encoder was changed. So those rm files will not play on the older player.
You may not be able to burn some .ram files due to those files being encoded with a DRM (Digital Rights Management) enforced. This is copy protection.
Also, recording REAL AUDIO streams is illegal for many of the castings. You should review the acceptable use policy

Guest
06-07-2004, 05:02 PM
Thank you for your prompt response, Locustfurnace!!!

No, material is not copy protected. I'll try 8 and 9.

Thought:
Microsoft recently tricked me into an upgrade to their new player/burner 9 (?).
Perhaps this is where I'm having the problem. I think I was able to take the RealPlayer 9-10 file and burn it with the OLD Microsoft player/burner. 9 will not do it. Can I still download the old one?

Thanks again for your Help!!!
Carl

Guest
06-07-2004, 06:04 PM
RealAudio 1.0.0 (0.3 MB)
RealAudio 3 (0.8 MB)
RealPlayer 4 (1.2 MB)
RealPlayer 5 (1.4 MB)
RealPlayer G2 (3.1 MB)
RealPlayer 7 (3.6 MB)
RealPlayer 8 (4.9 MB)
RealOne Player 1.0 (8.7 MB)
RealOne Player 2.0 (8.3 MB) these are all from the oldversion homepage

Guest
06-07-2004, 08:10 PM
Ta Da!!!
The Station would not even play with 7. RealPlayer 8 in combination with Microsoft lets me burn CD's. The lockout of RAM must be part of 9-10.
Thanks!!!