PDA

View Full Version : Re Previous Posting Of Messangers



Alternative Messanger
09-05-2003, 09:53 PM
Im trying to find a post that was made ( by locustfurnace I think ).

It was a list of about 7 or 8 alternatives to AIM/ICQ/MSN etc etc

One of which was a messanger type program that required downloading of an applet which allowed you to enter a 3D world, speak to people and build houses etc in a virtual city/world.

I was browsing down old posts @ work and found it. I was going to try them out when I got home not realising it would be so damn hard to find the post again.

The most annoying thing is I cant remember any keywords the forum search can find.
I've tried view all posts by Locustfurnace / Viewed pages of previous posts & replies and become almost screen blind.

Im not been lazy, I really cant find it. All I can remember is someone made a list of alternative chat programs .. one of which was a 3D world. Not much to go on.. ring any bells with anyone ?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks Dooks.

Dookie
09-05-2003, 09:55 PM
Above post was me ( forgot to login )

locustfurnace
09-06-2003, 12:15 AM
There are alot of 3d world chats,
Dive; The Distributed Interactive Virtual Environment (DIVE) is an internet-based multi-user VR system where participants navigate in 3D space and see, meet and interact with other users and applications.
http://www.sics.se/dive/
ActiveWorlds; "Active Worlds, the webs most powerful Virtual Reality experience, lets you visit and chat in incredible 3D worlds that are built by other users."
http://www.activeworlds.com/
Cybertown; java client
http://www.cybertown.com/
Moove
http://www.moove.com/
Adobe Atmosphere
http://www.atmoinfopool.com/
Goonietown
http://www.goonietown.com/
VZones
http://www.vzones.com/
Outerworlds 3D Chat , Virtual Reality Software
http://www.outerworlds.com/
TalkWorld 3D voice Chat
http://www.talkworld-online.com/

non 3d world clients, but alternative to icq, msn,yahoo....
Java ICQ Client - go icq! very handy when not at your own computer and still want to icq someone.
http://go.icq.com/
Jabber open source and secure
http://www.jabber.org/about/overview.html?...f7d13ecf2cfc93e
Instant-T
http://www.interactiveni.com/IMSite/imfreeware.htm
Omni, (no longer developed it appears, but might still be useful)
http://www.emphatech.com/index.html
iGo Incognito, a secure IM.
http://www.igo-incognito.com/overview.html
Quicksilver Instant Messenger
http://www.qsmessage.com/
Encrypted AIM
http://www.johnytech.com/home.asp
IMCI Secure IM
http://www.imici.com/
MECA, InterOp with AIM, Yahoo!, MSN and ICQ. Play games through MECA on their new Games Channel
http://www.meca.com/Registration.jsp
i3Connect Merlin IM Server v1.1, Supports communication with any XMPP/Jabber client, Supports LDAP Authentication, PKI Encryption, X.509 Digital IDs, Secure client, Spam control.
http://www.i3connect.com/merlin.html
Cyberbuddy, Instant Message (like ICQ) with speech and animation.
http://www.yeayou.com/cyberbuddy/
Trusted Messenger, Secure network messaging allows for business communication through network instant messaging.
http://www.trusted-messaging.com/
WIC messenger , Use videoconferencing, interop with AIM, Msn, Icq and Yahoo
http://www.wic.com/info.htm
Sympatico Instant Messaging (SIM), with interoperability with AIM, MSN, ICQ and Yahoo
http://im.sympatico.ca/
Maxxchat, Home of MaxxIM and Maxxchat. Both programs work with MSN, Yahoo! IM, AIM, ICQ and IRC.
http://www.maxxchat.com/
Indiatimes Messenger, Indiatimes Messenger not only lets you message your friends with AIM, MSN, ICQ and Yahoo!. It also lets you All-in-one conference with them.
http://messenger.indiatimes.com/
Excite Private Messenger
http://www1.excite.com/home/messenger/mess...445%2C%2C00.htm (http://www1.excite.com/home/messenger/messenger_overview/0%2C17445%2C%2C00.htm)
Integrity Messenger , interop with AOL, MSN, ICQ, and Yahoo
http://www.integritymessenger.com/
IMpersona, Supports emoticons for full range of emotions.See and hear your buddies as you chat. MSN buddy list.
http://www.impersona.com/
Eyeball Chat, Send video and text messages to your AIM, MSN and Yahoo! buddies.Communicate securely and privately with
SSL encryption.
http://www.eyeballchat.com/
Chat@bles, The ability to send more than just mere emoticons.you and send anything with animation and sound along with text messaging. interoperability with AIM, Yahoo! and MSN.
http://chatables.net/site40/
ChitChat!, communicate from Win9x to UNIX users via standard talk protocol.
http://members.aol.com/chinyu/chitchat/

and for Alternative OS's, BSD, Linux users there are;
Kopete, is a flexible and extendable multiple protocol instant messaging system designed as a plugin-based system.
http://kopete.kde.org/
LICQ; Licq is a multi-threaded ICQ clone written mostly in C++. It uses an extensive plugin system to manage many different functions. The main gui is written using the Qt widget set. Licq is distributed under GPL with some special QPL exceptions for Qt.
http://licq.org/
GnomeICU;
http://gnomeicu.sourceforge.net/
EB-Lite
http://www.everybuddy.com/eb-lite/

couple more Jabber clients

luna ... with animated avatars, video, bubble chat, private chat, and personal profiles through the Jabber protocol.
http://www.lluna.de/
PSI
http://psi.affinix.com/
EXODUS
http://exodus.jabberstudio.org/
Centericq - (icq,yahoo,aol,MSN, jabber)
SIM : Simple Instant Messenger
http://sim-icq.sourceforge.net/
GAIM - (icq,yahoo,aol,MSN, jabber, Gadu-Gadu, and Zephyr networks.)
http://gaim.sourceforge.net/about.php
myJabber!, myJabber interacts with AIM, ICQ, MSN, Yahoo, plus it has the ability to create conference rooms and person-to-person text talk. file transfers also fully secured with SSL encryption. myJabber is based on the XMPP protocol

MAC OS X
iChat instant messaging
http://www.apple.com/macosx/jaguar/ichat.html
FIRE, A Multi-Protocol IM Client For OS X
http://fire.sourceforge.net/
Adium, A Unique, third party AIM (AOL Instant Messenger) Client.
http://64.90.168.102/index.html

Goslow
09-06-2003, 12:16 AM
I know its sad but someone else reads his posts ;-)

Try here
http://www.oldversion.com/talk/index.php?a...1222&hl=virtual (http://www.oldversion.com/talk/index.php?act=ST&f=1&t=1222&hl=virtual)

Goslow
09-06-2003, 04:21 AM
too slow 28k :-(

locustfurnace
09-06-2003, 10:54 AM
I been there, in the userland of 28k.
now I am at 3.5Mbps.

Goslow
09-08-2003, 06:06 AM
To whom it may concern lol

Now thats just BOASTING

I think I will shutup I have overdone this thread and in danger of earning my frightning member title (that was a surprise)
My apoligies to Dookie if he is getting semi-spammed by virtue of following this thread

But to give you the last word which I know you like, lol, I shall ask a ?

With all that speed does your appetite increase exponentially and therefore still suffer the net-age burden of low bandwidth under resourced.

p.s. can you hear the dictionary pages rustling lol

locustfurnace
09-08-2003, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by Goslow@Sep 8 2003, 05:06 AM
Now thats just BOASTING

With all that speed does your appetite increase exponentially and therefore still suffer the net-age burden of low bandwidth under resourced.

Boasting? I think not. I know a person in Milan Italy who gets a 10Mbps connection, So yea. I am running rather slow. But when running a SSL HTTP server, e mail server, NFS server, VPN Server, dial-in Server, Samba Server, SSH server, and CVS upping source files for server OS, I feel lke I am on a DSL line!

locustfurnace
09-10-2003, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by Alternative Messanger AKA Dookie@ Sep 5 2003, 08:53 PM
It was a list of about 7 or 8 alternatives to AIM/ICQ/MSN etc etc
I just updated the list, added about 6 more clients.
so thats why i am upping this post, incase you *missed* one of these clients and might want to try em.


-editing my own posts don't UP the messsages back to the top, thats why i am adding -this- message to the bottom.

KITTIE__FVCKIN__ROCKS
01-30-2005, 12:27 PM
I made a 3 Gbps connection by bridging 2 connections together, 1 was 100 Mbps the other 12 Mbps and this is with only BellSouth FastAccess DSL (LITE) *LOL*. The connection varies each time I start my computer though it's anywhere between 3-4 Gbps.

No more large fonts for me anymore either.

locustfurnace
01-30-2005, 01:41 PM
12mbpsS + 100mbps does not equal 3GBPS, wishful thinking.

KITTIE__FVCKIN__ROCKS
02-03-2005, 06:04 PM
oh is that right homeboy, I can't get a speed of 3Gbps? well then what's this about ??

http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/bc/4202aa69_eede/...fs_qACB5c_xu3nn (http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/bc/4202aa69_eede/bc/pictures/nb.jpg?bfs_qACB5c_xu3nn)

locustfurnace
02-03-2005, 10:08 PM
That is correct.
Your Ethernet card cant not exceed there speed. As most if not all home network cards are 100mbps. Thats the limit. A 12mbps card, again, thats its limit.

Besides, there is no way your system could handle 3Gigabits per second. Considering that the ethernet card sits on the PCI bus, which has a limit of 133mbps.
10-gigabit cards, require a PCI-X bus.
So far, the highest speed of recent network cards is a 1-gigabit, those cards are costly.
It is also HIGHLY unlikely, that you know a single thing about trunking.
It is also very interesting, that a 10-Gigabit network is still being developed, yet, you in your home, on a $5.00 100mbps card, has managed to do this. These 10-Gigabit cards cost $2000 to $4000 each. 10-Gigabit is still 10 times the cost of 1-Gigabit.
Not to mention, to achieve a single gigabit network cards speed, you must be hooked to a 1gigabit route, switch, hub.

How is it, that your ISP, which sets bandwidth throttling on your connection, which the ISP is most likely hooked up to a T3 line, which has a limit of 45mbps, is able to magically grant you 3Gbps, while their own servers, pipeline can not?

How is it, that by hooking 100mbps and 12mbps, you magically calculated 3,000mbps?
You have an insight to some unknown mathmatics?

Lets not forgot to mention, that most people, which have a 10/100 network, can never achieve the rated speeds at home? Yet.. again, you magically break that barrier. Not only are you able to achieve that 100mbps rated speed. but somehow, your cards, blast plast their own designed ability.

And finally, its also interesting that you achieved 3Gbps when the Internet2 Land Speed Record is 6.86 Gbps.
http://dnae.home.cern.ch/dnae/lsr4-nov04/

KITTIE__FVCKIN__ROCKS
02-03-2005, 10:58 PM
One day the 12.0Mbps connection was coming up with an error notification, you know, the yellow triangle with the black arrow, or maybe the other way around so anyway, I was out of ideas so I just put the two connections together and they both work now!! I don't know how it did it????????? I didn't calculate anything! I just read what it said!!!

BUt hey that's what it says in the status thingy homeboy. Plus I'm in a small town so don't think I ain't as surprised as you are at this connection I got but I guess dsl can do anything huh?! But not as much as cable of course.

And also lately I've noticed that the internet downloads pictures in websites, mp3s,or anything on the net for that matter, a lot faster since I made the network bridge thingy. Wonder why hahahahahahahaha

KITTIE__FVCKIN__ROCKS
02-03-2005, 11:05 PM
You have an insight to some unknown mathmatics?

LOL by the way, If I somehow did have any insight to math at all, I would be so f**king glad because I'm horrible at it!

locustfurnace
02-04-2005, 02:19 AM
Originally posted by KITTIE__FVCKIN__ROCKS@Feb 3 2005, 10:58 PM
Plus I'm in a small town so don't think I ain't as surprised as you are at this connection I got but I guess dsl can do anything huh?! But not as much as cable of course.
ADSL technology can provide a maximum downstream (Internet to you) speeds of up to 8Mbps at a distance of about 6,000 feet, upstream speeds of up to 640Kbps. In average use the best speeds achieved are 1.5 Mbps downstream, with upstream speeds varying between 64 and 640 Kbps. As much as you might want to believe that is the speed reached, DSL can not do this. Its the same with your television, not matter how much one wants their old tv's to display HDTV broadcastings, it simply can not. Was not designed to.

The second fastest record Internet speed, being in the 4GBPS range, was over TCP/IPV6 also. Currently the Internet use TCP/IPv4.

What you seen displayed, was an error. With MS Windows, errors do happen often.