Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the OldVersion.com Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Icq > Msn

  1. #1
    SuBLiMe DuBStyLe
    Guest

    Default

    i downloaded icq 99a, cause that's the first version i had a long time ago (back in '99 i suppose (-: ) and, after i installed it and was setting up, it asked if i wanted to use my old number, so i typed it in with my password and all that jazz... but it wouldn't work. it said something Wacky was up, i dunno what i should do though... does it just not work because it's outdated? or should i delete the newer versions of icq off my computer? someone please help me... thanks.

    -Danf Bot.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,496

    Default

    I have not tried running that old of an icq client with the newest inuse protocols, so i will have to guess it just wont work any longer. possibly due to changes in the server, from a TOC to the newer OSCAR login server, which is also used for AOL IMS.
    you might be able to use it, cant say for certain. But make sure the password and UIN are correct. if it does not log you in, then you possibly can not use it, plus i would not want to use it, since when they did the change over from protocol v5 - > V7, i never got offline messages, Plus the newer servers hold contact list on the server side, which is a plus, dont need to back up your contacts anymore.

    you might have a problem with 2 versions of ICQ.
    maybe just try an alternative to icq, which there are plenty in the pinned topic to chose from

  3. #3
    SuBLiMe DuBStyLe
    Guest

    Default

    thanks for your help... honestly i don't really know what most of what you're talking about means, but i'm pretty sure i got the just of it...
    ...i just miss old icq )-:
    my main problem with the newest one, well, this might sound kind of stupid, but when you're messaging someone with the newest icq, if you press alt+3, the message window closes... so this is a problem for me because i constantly use accents on a few letters, like , , , , , , etc... and for all of those i need to use a 3. so... that's why i want old icq...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,496

    Default

    I dont have any windows closing on me when i do a alt+3, or an alt+4, i am running icq2003a build3800.
    maybe you need to make some adjustments to the keymapping, or change your keymapping in windows.
    if the problem presists with the newer version, you should submit a feature list to the developers, it might be a bug, or maybe they just have overlooked something.

    else, give an alternative chat client a try, alot of those users who have switched, prefer their new clients, personally i prefer LICQ, which is for UNIX, than the ICQ for windows. Even the client i was running on my old MAC, had better interaction than the windows client.

  5. #5
    eeege
    Guest

    Default

    I had 99a up until a few months ago. (I update nothing if I can help it.) That's when ICQ informed me that they would no longer support the old versions and I had to update to a new version. But they were kind enough to allow me to keep my number as well as convert my contact list to a format 2003 could recognize! :-

    From what I could tell...the server it tries to connect to no longer exists or doesn't recognize 99a.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,496

    Default

    Originally posted by eeege@Dec 6 2003, 02:17 PM
    I had 99a up until a few months ago. (I update nothing if I can help it.) That's when ICQ informed me that they would no longer support the old versions and I had to update to a new version. But they were kind enough to allow me to keep my number as well as convert my contact list to a format 2003 could recognize! :-

    From what I could tell...the server it tries to connect to no longer exists or doesn't recognize 99a.
    Yes, upgrading to the newer versions does not remove your UIN. Your only updating the program.
    They switched different server/client protocols. Which allow better things, such as Server Side Contact lists, better security, more improvments for users behind firewalls.

    I think the ICQ99a used different server address also, since it was most likely still lookin for the mirabilis servers, and since AOL owns ICQ now, i am sure that was another thing they had changed was switching servers, addresses.

  7. #7
    fortula
    Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by locustfurnace@Nov 12 2003, 08:02 PM
    I dont have any windows closing on me when i do a alt+3, or an alt+4, i am running icq2003a build3800.
    maybe you need to make some adjustments to the keymapping, or change your keymapping in windows.
    if the problem presists with the newer version, you should submit a feature list to the developers, it might be a bug, or maybe they just have overlooked something.

    else, give an alternative chat client a try, alot of those users who have switched, prefer their new clients, personally i prefer LICQ, which is for UNIX, than the ICQ for windows. Even the client i was running on my old MAC, had better interaction than the windows client.
    I have ICQ2003b build #3916. My message window closes, too if I use alt+3 ( on the numeric pad)
    I need to use this key combination to type a £ symbol. <_<

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,496

    Default

    What keymapping are you using? I am using the English language mapping, I have no problems entering the alt+3. Those experiencing this problem will find that contacting the author of the program will be the best choice, since they develop the software, and if this is a common problem, the developers might be unaware, and need to be notified. Then they can fix these glitches in newer releases, and possibly give you a solution as well.


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •