Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the OldVersion.com Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Default I fixed Skype - It was crashing- I used this website to help me.

    I have fixed Skype myself by using an older version of Skype from this website.
    I did not get any useful advice from Skype help except on how to properly uninstall Skype.
    Here's what I did.

    I downloaded an old version of Skype & installed it.
    The version that is now being used is 2.0.0.107
    I got it from http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=skype
    This was not on the Skype website.

    I of course uninstalled the old version which was version 2.5.0.151
    I had also tried the latest version which was 3.0.0.198 but that was the worst of all
    giving 100 error windows opening as soon as I tried to make a call.
    When uninstalling I also cleaned up the old versions on the hard disk.
    I followed the advice of Skype help which was

    ->Go to Program Files and delete Skype folder in there.

    *Go to My Computer -->
    Your system drive (possibly C: )
    --> Documents and settings\Your Windows Username\Application data\
    delete Skype folder in there.

    * Open Windows' "Start" menu and select "Run".
    * Enter "regedit" in the text box and click "OK".
    * Open the "Edit" drop-down menu and click "Find".
    * Search for the keyword "Skype". Delete all search results
    My computer is now perfect with every program working.
    I also scanned my computer with an amazing new program called
    Advanced windows care V2 which was free from the February 2007 edition of PC User magazine.
    It was used before & after uninstalling to get rid of any nasties left behind.
    I used it only in registry & system cleaning mode.

    I am a happy chappy now with a good reliable Pentium 4 2.8 Ghz
    with an 800 Mhz FSB & 512K of L2 cache.

    By the way I am not using the HDD with the windows re-installed - I am using my old
    HDD. You can upgrade a CPU to a faster one with double the FSB &
    if you are lucky you will only need to update your drivers from
    the Motherboard & Video card manufacturers website - as I did.
    It goes like lightening compared to before.
    cheers
    Alpal.


    P.S.
    This was my original post on 2 other websites.

    I changed the processor in my computer from a 1.7Ghz P4 to a 2.8 Ghz p4
    & everything worked except Skype.
    I tried the 3.0 version & the computer went crazy with about literally 100 error windows opening.
    I went back to the 2.5 version & it was unstable & would disappear as soon as I made a call. skype.exe would leave the task list.
    Sometimes I could make calls to the skype test center 5 times in a row
    but always the instability would return. In other words the problem is intermittent.
    This morning it took 10 tries to open Skype to make a successfull test call.
    I reloaded windows on another hard disk & tried Skype again but itís still the same.
    It is only skype that has this problem.
    All other programs run well.
    I tried uninstalling, cleaning registrys using nortons , removing spyware doctor & other programs in case there was a conflict & nothing works.
    this problem has now cost me 2 days hard work & still there is no answer.

    At the moment I am thinking of changing the cpu back to a 1.7 Ghz even though the motherboard is designed for that speed ( 800FSB.)
    Any thoughts from anyone?
    Cheers
    Allan.

    P.S. I have a Gigabyte motherboard, a Sapphire 128 Mbyte DDR Ram video card Radeon chipset.
    2.8 Ghz P4 Northwood CPU with 512 K cache. 800 FSB.
    I have 1 Gbyte of DDR Ram.
    7200 rpm HDD Western Digital. 450 Watt power supply.
    No question marks in device manager.
    No conflicts.
    Sandra benchmark testing gives good results.
    Memory testing with Memtest86 finds no errors.
    Audio & video is working well with all other programs.
    I have a 1.5 Mbit/sec ADSL connection.
    I am running WIN XP SP2 with full Microsoft updates.

  2. #2

    Default

    Welcome to the site,im glad you fixed things


    Any chance on getting v0.97.040 running?

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi "Dude",
    Thanks for your comment.
    This site is great as it helped me to solve a bad problem.

    Any chance on getting v0.97.040 running?

    I don't know why you want to run that version but I suggest you do what I did above.
    Uninstall your present version.
    Clean up any remnants manually as above.
    Re-load the version of Skype you want.
    Also run " Advanced Windows Care V2 " before & after.
    Hope that helps?
    Cheers
    alpal

  4. #4
    Release Candiate 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    50

    Default

    So you call around using this? 14.95 free calls hmmm, I'm phoneless so this could be a tool to me thinking..........................

  5. #5

    Default

    I have solved the problem by changing my motherboard.
    It cost me $100 brand new still in the box from a computer swap meet.

    I am now running Skype version 3.0.0.198 without any problems.
    I had also noticed that other programs were starting to get their
    own new unique problems in the last 2 weeks.
    The computer was getting more & more unstable

    This is strange that all I had done was to upgrade my CPU
    from a
    1.7 GHz P4 with a 400 MHz FSB to a

    2.8 GHz P4 with an 800 MHz FSB & hyperthreading.

    Both manufacturers of the boards claim that they support the higher functions.
    My RAM & everything else was supposed to support the higher speed.

    Logic would have told me that since the only change was the CPU
    that the CPU must have been the problem - but it wasn't.

    My old motherboard was a Gigabyte GA-8VT800.
    My new motherboard is an ECS 661FX-M Rev:1.0B.

    My computer is super stable now.
    Cheers
    Alpal

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    1,450

    Default

    i would imagine they both are capable of handling the speed etc if the manufacturer states they will,but there is always a small chance of a slight incompatibility between certain brands of components.nothing stranger than a bunch of pc that just do not get on.i had a similar thing with graphics cards on a pc a while back,a particular 64mb graphics card would not run on a system yet an identical card worked fine,the first card i thought must be faulty,yet it worked fine in 3 other pcs and is in fact still in a system and never missed a beat.
    simply me


 

Similar Threads

  1. SKYPE Question
    By The Dude in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 04:42 PM
  2. Skype for mobile
    By josef2 in forum Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 12:11 PM
  3. Skype? Need To Update??
    By MonEco in forum Programs / Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2006, 04:37 AM
  4. skype users
    By the gaffer in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2005, 02:37 AM
  5. The Ideal Website
    By Aasim in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2003, 01:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •